Lone Star Gridiron

Christine Michael Wins The 2009 EAS Speed & Strength Award

Beaumont West Brook running back Christine Michael was named the 2009 EAS Speed & Strength Award Winner.  The U.S. Army All-American running back was honored as the nation's fastest, strongest and most dedicated high school football player at the U.S. Army All-American Awards Dinner in San Antonio.   He was presented with the Walter Payton Trophy, modeled after the NFL's late great Chicago Bears running back.

The other three finalists were tight end Ronnie Wingo Jr. (University High School, St. Louis, Mo.), defensive back Dre Kirkpatrick (Gadsden City High School, Gadsden, Ala.), and defensive lineman Donte Moss (Northside High School, Jacksonville, N.C.).   These four athletes traveled to the Athletes Performance training facility in Tempe, Arizona in December.  Here they worked out with top athletic trainers and competed in a series of speed, strength and agility tests. Michael best represented Payton's athleticism, hard work and ideals.

Past Walter Payton Trophy award recipients include Nigel Bradham (Florida State) in 2008, Arrelious Benn (Illinois) in 2007, Taylor Mays (USC) in 2006, and Ryan Reynolds (Oklahoma) in 2005.

What are your thoughts?