Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2010 LSG Preview — San Antonio Madison Mavericks

Team: San Antonio Madison Mavericks

District: 26-5A

Coach: Jim Streety (19 years) 155-70-1 at San Antonio Madison; 304-115-3 overall record (#9 on the all-time coaching wins list)

Last Years Record: 6-4 overall 5-3 District

2009 Games:
vs SA O'Connor (5-6) (W 40-0)
vs *New Braunfels (11-4) (W 21-13)
at *SA Johnson (5-5) (W 42-9)
vs *SA MacArthur (5-5) (L 30-34)
at *Smithson Valley (6-4) (W 27-3)
vs *SA Churchill (3-7) (OT) (W 21-14)
at *SA Lee (1-9) (W 37-14)
vs *SA Roosevelt (7-4) (L 14-31)
at *SA Reagan (8-3) (L 21-30)

Playoffs: Division I Bi-District
vs Austin Westlake (13-3) (L 27-31) Bi-District

2010 Schedule
27-Aug vs. Schertz Cibolo Steele 7:30
****To read about their featured game vs. Schertz Cibolo Steele click here
3-Sep vs. Kerrville Tivy 7:30
10-Sep @ New Braunfels 7:30
25-Sep vs. Converse Judson 7:00
1-Oct vs. San Antonio Johnson 7:30*
8-Oct @ San Antonio Roosevelt 7:30*
15-Oct vs. San Antonio Churchill 7:30*
22-Oct @ San Antonio Reagan 7:30*
30-Oct vs. San Antonio Lee 7:30*
5-Nov @ San Antonio MacArthur 7:30*

Returning Lettermen: 20

Returning Starters: Offense: 6 Defense: 1

Key Players:
QB A.J. Meyers 1172 yards 12 TDs
RB Aaron Green 1133 yards 11 TDS HM All-State TOP 30 RB
RB Troy Williams 1st Team All-District 439 yards
OL Jake Jauert
OL Connor Hunsaker
LB Andre Wiggins 3 star
DB Troy Lara 43 tackles

The Mavericks were ranked in the Top 20 all of last year until they ended the season with a 3 game losing streak including a 4 point loss to the eventual state runner up Austin Westlake. They will have one of the states best running backs in Green who scored 9 TDs in a game vs.Kerrville Tivy as a Sophomore. Only 1 defensive starter so they will need Wiggins and Lara to step up.

19 consecutive non-losing seasons
Have had winning seasons 26 of last 32 years
All time record: 238-123-4 65.75% 365 games
"M&M Bowl" vs. San Antonio MacArthur 9-8 record since 1994 including playoff loss in 1998
Playoff Appearances (17) 1979,1984,1985,1990,1991,1992,1995,1998,1999,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2007,2008,2009

Championship History: NO CHAMPIONSHIP GAMEs

Last 5 year record: 44-17

Last 10 year record: 89-33

By: Michael Wright & Chris Doelle
Lone Star Gridiron

What are your thoughts?