Lone Star Gridiron

Private Schools Attempt to join U.I.L. – Texas Coaches Are Against

The Texas High School Coaches Association posted a "Legislative Alert" designed to gather forces to opposes S.B. 1214. The plea follows:

S.B. 1214, by Dan Patrick of Houston relates to the participation of private schools in U.I.L. sponsored activities.

If passed the language in this bill would destroy a level playing field for our public schools and the children they serve. This would affect athletics, academics, music and fine arts in all classifications.

On Tuesday, March 29, S.B. 1214 passed through the Senate Education Committee. Because the next step in this process will be to submit the bill on the Senate Floor for a vote, it is especially important that we voice our opposition to S.B. 1214 as soon as possible.

We need your help to contact our State Senators and Representatives to show a strong opposition to opening the U.I.L. membership to private schools!!!

We are asking each of you to use the following bullet points and contact your Senators and Representatives to express your opposition to S.B. 1214.

PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO FRIENDS OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ATHLETICS.

Bullet points in opposition to Private School Membership in all U.I.L. Activities:

* Private schools must recruit to exist. (Impossible to comply with recruiting rules because recruiting is critical to their very existence.)
* Private schools do not have to admit all children. (Public schools are required to take all comers; private schools are able to create a select environment.)

* Private schools do not comply with parent residence boundaries whereas public schools must. (How do you solve the issue of boundaries with private schools?)

* Academic standards are not mandated by statute, while public schools are heavily regulated.

* Private schools control the number of students who attend and would control their U.I.L. classification, while a public school cannot. (The smaller the classification the greater the impact of private schools.)

* Private schools have an unfair competitive advantage in that they have a unique situation in the fact that they can establish a select environment.

I am writing to ask for your help!

It is imperative that we contact our State Representatives and strongly oppose opening the U.I.L. membership to private schools.

Many have asked, "What can I do to help"? There are two things you can do.

First, you need to contact your State Legislators. We have tried to make it as easy as we can for you. AssistantCoach Systems has donated a website tool to make it easy for anyone in Texas to send emails to their State Representative. We urge you to go to this website now and spend 2 minutes to add your name to the list of those who oppose the legislation. You can get to this tool by clicking HERE!!! This website also allows you to view the Bills and their impact.

You can also act by calling your Representative and/or sending a handwritten note. We have provided a list of the Senate Education Committee and House Committee on Public Education below. You can also click on the links below or visit the THSCA website for a complete list of Representatives and their contact information.

Lastly, we need to bring this Legislation to the attention of as many people as we possibly can and encourage them to contact their Legislators. Please forward this email to all friends of high school athletics and encourage them to voice their opinions.

It is critical to act immediately, the quicker that you respond, the better!

Senate Education Committee: For a complete list of Senators & Contact Info CLICK HERE!

Chair:Sen. Florence Shapiro (Plano) 512/463-0108 florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us

Vice Chair:Sen. Dan Patrick (Houston) 512/463-0107 dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. John Carona (Dallas) 512/463-0116 john.carona@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Wendy Davis (Fort Worth) 512/463-0110 wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Mario Gallegos, Jr. (Houston) 512/463-0106 mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Steve Ogden (Bryan) 512/463-0105 steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Kel Seliger (Amarillo) 512/463-0131 kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Leticia Van de Putte (San Antonio) 512/463-0126 leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Royce West (Dallas) 512/463-0123 royce.west@senate.state.tx.us

House Committee on Public Education: For a complete list of Representatives & Contact Info CLICK HERE!

Chair:Rep. Rob Eissler (The Woodlands) 512/463-0797 rob.eissler@house.state.tx.us

Vice Chair: Rep. Scott Hochberg (Houston) 512/463-0492 scott.hochberg@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Alma Allen (Houston) 512/463-0744 alma.allen@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Jimmie Don Aycock (Killeen) 512/463-0684 jimmie.aycock@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Harold V. Dutton, Jr. (Houston) 512/463-0510 harold.dutton@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Ryan Guillen (Rio Grande City) 512/463-0416 ryan.guillen@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Dan Huberty (Houston) 512/463-0520 dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Mark Shelton (Fort Worth) 512/463-0608 mark.shelton@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Todd Smith (Euless) 512/463-0522 todd.smith@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Mark Strama (Austin) 512/463-0821 mark.strama@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Randy Webber (Pearland) 512/463-0707 district29.weber@house.state.tx.us

To Access the Texas Legislature Online visit - www.capitol.state.tx.us

What are your thoughts?