Lone Star Gridiron

ALERT: Bill set to destroy level playing field for public schools

THSCA LEGISLATIVE ALERT

Texas Private Schools Petition the State Legislature
for Admittance to the U.I.L.

            S.B. 573, by Dan Patrick of Houston relates to the participation of private schools in U.I.L. sponsored activities.

            If passed the language in this bill would destroy a level playing field for our public schools and the children they serve. This would affect athletics, academics, music and fine arts in all classifications.

            On Tuesday, March 12, S.B. 573 passed through the Senate Education Committee. Because the next step in this process will be to submit the bill on the Senate Floor for a vote, it is especially important that we voice our opposition to S.B. 573 as soon as possible.

            We need your help to contact our State Senators and Representatives to show a strong opposition to opening the U.I.L. membership to private schools!!!

            We are asking each of you to use the following bullet points and contact your Senators and Representatives to express your opposition to S.B. 573.

PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO ALL FRIENDS OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ATHLETICS.

 Bullet points in opposition to Private School Membership in all U.I.L. Activities:

  • Private schools must recruit to exist. (Impossible to comply with recruiting rules because recruiting is critical to their very existence.)
  • Private schools do not have to admit all children. (Public schools are required to take all comers: learning disabled, behaviorally disabled and physically disabled; private schools are able to create a select environment.)
  • Private schools do not comply with the parent residence boundaries that public schools do. (How do you solve the issue of boundaries with private schools?)
  • Academic standards are not mandated by statute, while public schools are heavily regulated.
  • Private schools control the number of students who attend and would control their U.I.L. classification, while a public school cannot. (The smaller the classification the greater the impact of private schools.)
  • Private schools have an unfair competitive advantage in that they have a unique situation -- they can establish a select environment.

We are writing to ask for your help!

It is imperative that we contact our State Representatives and strongly oppose opening the U.I.L. membership to private schools.

Many have asked, "What can I do to help?" There are two things you can do.

First, you need to contact your State Legislators. We have tried to make it as easy as we can for you. AssistantCoach Systems has donated a website tool to make it easy for anyone in Texas to send emails to their State Representative. We urge you to go to this website now and spend 2 minutes to add your name to the list of those who oppose the legislation. You can get to this tool by clicking HERE! This website also allows you to view the bill and it's impact.

You can also act by calling your Representative and/or sending a handwritten note. We have provided a list of the Senate Education Committee and House Committee on Public Education below. You can also click on the links below or visit the THSCA website for a complete list of Legislators and their contact information. A phone call is the most effective way to voice your opposition.

Lastly, we need to bring this Legislation to the attention of as many people as we possibly can and encourage them to contact their Legislators. Please forward this email to all friends of high school athletics and encourage them to voice their opinions.

It is critical to act immediately, the quicker that you respond, the better!

Senate Education Committee: For a complete list of Senators & Contact Info CLICK HERE!

Chair: Sen. Dan Patrick (Houston) 512/463-0107 dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us
Vice Chair:
Sen. Eddie Lucio (Brownsville) 512/463-0127 eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Donna Campbell (New Braunfels) 512/463-0125 donna.campbell@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Robert Duncan (Lubbock) 512/463-0128 robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Ken Paxton (McKinney) 512/463-0108 ken.paxton@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Kel Seliger (Amarillo) 512/463-0131 kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Larry Taylor (Friendswood) 512/463-0111 larry.taylor@senate.tx.us
Sen.Leticia Van de Putte (San Antonio) 512/463-0126 leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Royce West (Dallas) 512/463-0123 royce.west@senate.state.tx.us
Senators Van de Putte and Duncan both voted against SB 573 when it was brought before the Educaiton Committee.

House Committee on Public Education: For a complete list of Representatives & Contact Info CLICK HERE!

Chair: Rep. Jimmie Don Aycock (Killeen) 512/463-0684 jimmie.aycock@house.state.tx.us
Vice Chair: Rep. Alma Allen (Houston) 512/463-0744
alma.allen@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Davis (Houston) 512/463-0734
john.davis@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Joe Deshotel (Beaumont) 512/463-0662
joe.deshotel@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Harold V. Dutton, Jr. (Houston) 512/463-0510
harold.dutton@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Marsha Farney (Georgetown) 512/4630309
marsha.farney@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Dan Huberty (Houston) 512/463-0520
dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Ken King (Canadian) 512/463-0736
Ken.King@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Bennett Ratliff (Coppell) 512/463-0468
Bennett.Ratliff@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Justin Rodriguez (San Antonio) 512/463-0669
Justin.Rodriguez@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Mike Villarreal (San Antonio) 512/463-0532
michael.villarreal@house.state.tx.us

To Access the Texas Legislature Online visit - www.capitol.state.tx.us

What are your thoughts?