2011 3A Athens Hornets Preview – Texas High School Football

Team: Athens Hornets

District: 17-3A

Coach: Paul Essary (2 Years) 14-10 at Athens; 43-53-0 all-time overall coaching record

Last Years Record: 11-3 overall 3-1 District

2010 Games:
vs FW Nolan Catholic (14-1) (L 28-34)
at Longview Spring Hill (4-6) (W 28-19)
vs Diboll (5-6) (W 35-24)
at Wills Point (4-6) (W 38-33)
vs Palestine (2-8) (W 49-14)
at Huntington (2-8) (W 56-0)
vs *Bullard (3-7) (W 66-20)
at *Brownsboro (6-5) (W 63-21)
at *Rusk (3-7) (W 49-7)
at *Tyler Chapel Hill (13-2) (L 35-38)

Playoffs: Division II Quarterfinals
vs Diboll (5-6) (W 56-7) Bi-District
vs Lorena (10-2) (W 31-7) Area
vs Brookshire Royal (9-4) (W 29-26) Regionals
vs Coldspring-Oakhurst (14-2) (L 14-44) Quarterfinals

Returning Lettermen: 10

Returning Starters: Offense: 4 Defense: 5

Key Players:
* OL Cameron Bailey TOP 30 OL 1st Team All-State (TSWA)
* RB/DB Kendall Sanders TOP 10 ATH & DIST MVP 780 receiving yards 1069 rushing yards 24 total TDs 48 tackles
* OL Scott Jordan 1st Team All-District
* DL Micheal Daily 1st Team All-District 53 tackles
* DB Zach Basher 1st Team All-District

LSG District Ranking: #2 (Behind state ranked #1 Tyler Chapel Hill)

LSG Region Ranking: #5

LSG State Ranking: #14

The Hornets made a good run all the way to the quarterfinals last year. They gave Tyler Chapel Hill a really close game last year for the district championship. It looks to come down to these two again. Kendall Sanders will be the key to the Hornets success.

* 2010 ended a streak of 13 Consecutive non-winning seasons
* 2010′s 11 wins was the most in school history
* All-Time Record: 425-467-27 47.72% 919 total games played

Championship History: No Championship Games

Last 5 year record: 29-27

Last 10 year record: 36-70

Click To see all the other Team Previews

By: Michael Wright
Lone Star Gridiron

2011 LSG Team Previews


Here are the schools that we are planning on doing 2011 Pre-Season Previews on. If your school is not on the list and would like it added, just email us at info@lonestargridiron.com


A&M Consolidated Tigers
Abilene Eagles
Abilene Cooper Cougars
Allen Eagles
Arlington Martin Warriors
Austin Bowie Bulldogs
Austin Westlake Chaparrals
Cedar Hill Longhorns
Cibolo Steele Knights
Clear Creek Wildcats
Clear Springs Chargers
Converse Judson Rockets
Coppell Cowboys
Cypress Creek Cougars
Cypress Woods Wildcats
Denton Guyer Wildcats
DeSoto Eagles
Euless Trinity Trojans
Galena Park North Shore Mustangs
Harlingen Cardinals
Houston Memorial Mustangs
Laredo Alexander Bulldogs
Longview Lobos
Lufkin Panthers
Katy Tigers
Katy Cinco Ranch Cougars
Klein Collins Tigers
Mesquite Horn Jaguars
Midland Bulldogs
Odessa Permian Panthers
Pasadena Dobie Longhorns
Pearland Oilers
Port Arthur Memorial Titans
Round Rock Stony Point Tigers
San Antonio MacArthur Brahmas
San Antonio Stevens Falcons
San Antonio Wagner Thunderbirds
Southlake Carroll Dragons
The Woodlands Highlanders
Tomball Cougars
Tyler Lee Red Raiders
Aledo Bearcats
Austin Lake Travis Cavaliers
Bastrop Bears
Birdville Hawks
Brenham Cubs
Cedar Park Timberwolves
Corpus Christi Calallen Wildcats
Dallas Carter Cowboys
Dallas Highland Park Scots
Dayton Broncos
Denton Ryan Raiders
El Campo Ricebirds
Friendswood Mustangs
Frisco Liberty Red Hawks
Gregory-Portland Wildcats
Houston C.E. King Panthers
Houston Wheatley Wildcats
Kerville Tivy Antlers
La Marque Cougars
Manvel Mavericks
Mesquite Poteet Pirates
Montgomery Bears
Pearland Dawson Eagles
Port Lavaca Calhoun Sandcrabs
Port Neches-Groves Indians
San Angelo Lake View Chiefs
San Antonio Alamo Heights Mules
Smithson Valley Rangers
Stephenville Yellow Jackets
Tyler John Tyler Lions
Victoria East Titans
Waco Hewitt Midway Panthers
Weslaco East Wildcats
Wichita Falls Rider Raiders
Wylie Pirates
Alvarado Indians
Argyle Eagles
Aubrey Chaparrals
Athens Hornets
Brownwood Lions
Carthage Bulldogs
Celina Bobcats
Coldspring-Oakhurst Trojans
Cuero Gobblers
Dallas Madison Trojans
Geronimo Navarro Panthers
Gilmer Buckeyes
Henderson Lions
Ingleside Mustangs
Kirbyville Wildcats
Lucas Lovejoy Leopards
Monahans Loboes
Navasota Rattlers
Sealy Tigers
Snyder Tigers
Sweeny Bulldogs
Tyler Chapel Hill Bulldogs
West Columbia Roughnecks
West Orange-Stark Mustangs
Wimberley Texans
Axtell Longhorns
Boyd Yellow Jackets
Cameron Yoe Yoemen
Daingerfield Tigers
Edna Cowboys
Idalou Wildcats
Lago Vista Vikings
Lexington Eagles
Littlefield Wildcats
Newton Eagles
Omaha Paul Pewitt Brahmas
Refugio Bobcats
Rice Consolidated Raiders
Schulenburg Shorthorns
Tatum Eagles
Vanderbilt Industrial Cobras
Wall Hawks
West Rusk Raiders
Whitney Wildcats
Albany Lions
Canadian Wildcats
Falls City Beavers
Ganado Indians
Goldthwaite Eagles
Mart Panthers
Shiner Comanches
Windthorst Trojans