Lone Star Gridiron

McFarland Wins 2008 Maxwell National High School Player of the Year Award

Lufkin's Senior defensive lineman JaMarkus McFarland was the winner of the 2008 Maxwell National High School Player of the Year award. The award is voted on by members of the Maxwell Club, sports writers and coache. This award honors the nations top high school football player.

Last year's award winner was Terrelle Pryor, who now plays for Ohio State University.

Other awared winners at the ceremony were:

Tim Tebow (Maxwell Award winner for College Player of the Year)

Adrian Peterson (Bert Bell Award winner for Professional Player of the Year)

Tennessee Titans' head coach Jeff Fisher ("Greasy" Neale Award for Professional Coach of the Year)

Texas Tech head coach Mike Leach (George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year)

USC's Rey Maualuga (Chuck Bednarik Award for College Defensive Player of the Year)

Steve Sabol (Francis "Reds" Bagnell Award)

Chris Fowler, Kirk Herbstreit and Lee Corso (Harrah's Broadcast Award for Sports Broadcaster of the Year).

By: Michael Wright
Lone Star Gridiron

What are your thoughts?