Lone Star Gridiron

7-on-7 State Championship Media Guide Information

It is time for the “FOX Sports Southwest 7-on-7 State Championship presented by adidas and Academy Sports & Outdoors.”

Perennial Teams – Arlington Lamar has the distinct honor of being the only Division I (Class 4A-5A) team to have qualified every year (1998-2010) to compete in the state championship tournament.

Following are teams that have qualified every year (2007-2010) for the Division II (Class 1A-3A) small school state championship tournament:

Glen Rose

FIRST TIMERS – 7-on-7 football continues to gain popularity from year-to-year, as new teams qualify for the state championship tournament each year. Following are first-timers to compete in the Division I (Class 4A-5A) state tournament:

Cypress Woods, Irving Nimitz, San Antonio Madison, Edinburg, Lewisville, San Antonio Warren, El Paso Coronado, Little Cypress-Mauriceville, Skyline, Houston Worthing, PSJA Memorial, Spring DeKaney

Following are first-timers to compete in the Division II (Class 1A-3A) state tournament:

Alto, Eastland, Lexington, Andrews, Freer, Lorena, Archer City, Gilmer, Newton, Aubrey, Godley, Ballinger, Grandview, Sanger, Bellvillle, Hidalgo, Seminole, Ben Bolt, Houston Kinkaid, Somerset, Boyd, Industrial, Sonora, Canyon Lake, Ingleside, Van Vleck, Comanche, Kaufman, Yoakum

The most represented district(s) in Division I (Class 4A-5A), each with four schools:
District 6-5A – Coppell, Hebron, Lewisville, Southlake Carroll
District 11-5A – DeSoto, John Tyler, Mesquite, Tyler Lee
District 15-5A – Cy Creek, Cy Fair, Cy Falls, Cy Woods

The most represented district in Division II (Class 1A-3A), with four schools is District 2-3A (Abilene Wylie, Brownwood, Graham and Snyder)

Three private schools will compete in this year’s tournament, all in Division II (Class 1A-3A):
Houston Kinkaid (SPC DI)
Houston Second Baptist (DII-4 TAPPS)
Waco Reicher (DIII-3 TAPPS)

What are your thoughts?