Wimberley Wins Defensive Battle

Wimberley Texans - Class 3A Division II State Champions

Wimberley 21, Argyle 14

The Wimberley Texans won their 2nd overall state championship with a win over the Argyle Eagles in what was a great championship game to watch.  The Eagles fall to 0-2 all-time in state championship games.

It was a classic defensive battle in the first half with the teams totaling only 278 yards.  Wimberley went in at the half leading 7-3.  What may have been the biggest play of the game, Argyle fumbled the ball out of the end zone when it looked like they were about to take the lead.  They took the 2nd half kickoff and marched the ball all the way to the Texan 1 yard line.  The Eagle running back looked like he was going to score and was hit right before he crossed the line and the ball was knocked out of the end zone giving Wimberley the ball.  A few plays later offensive player of the game Dennis Smith (he also had 10 tackles on defense) caught a 66 yard touchdown pass to give the Texans a 14-3 lead.

Argyle fought back and made the score 14-11 with 10:37 left in the 4th.  Texan running back Trinity Wilson gave the Texans a little breathing room a few plays later though with a 76 yard touchdown run. Wilson was also a key player on defense.  Wimberley's Brennan Blakemore put the nail in the Eagle's coffin when he intercepted a pass with Argyle driving to tie the game.

For the record, Argyle Kicker Cole Hedlund connected on 2 field goals to give him an all-time state record 25 for the year.

All-Time Records

1.    25 - Cole Hedlund, Argyle, 2011
2.    21 - Juan Carranco, Dayton, 2011
3.    20 - Hunter Lawrence, Boerne, 2004
T4.   19 – Matt Szmanski, A&M Consolidated, 2005
T4.   19 - Stephen Coker, Lufkin, 2001
T4.   19 - Kyle Bryant, A&M Consolidated, 1992
T4.   19 - Chris Sims, Garland, 1999
T8.   17 - Todd Tschantz, Richardson Lake Highlands, 1981
T8.   17 - Zach Myatt, A&M Consolidated, 2002
T8.   17 - Johnny McKinney, Leonard, 1971
T8.   17 – Josh Pursche, Rogers, 2003
T12.  16 - Travis Tamez, Mesquite Horn, 2011
T12.  16 - Michael Shroble, Klein Oak, 2010
T12.  16 - Jake Higgs, Andrews, 2010
T12.  16 – Jaime Fernandez, Lufkin, 2005
T12.  16 – Brian Galindo, San Antonio O’Connor, 2004
T12.  16 – Jeremy Parker, Mesquite, 2001
T12.  16 – Jarrett Brelsford, Spring Hill, 2000
T12.  16 – Russell Bynum, La Marque, 1994
T12.  16 – Kenneth Gilbreath, Wink, 1997
T12.  16 – Terry Venetoulias, Deer Park, 1988
T12.  16 – Reagan Bewley, Graham, 1984

Did you go to the game? If so, call in your report to 713-568-6361. Also send photos to info@lonestargridiron.com.

By: Michael Wright
Lone Star Gridiron