UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Cameron Yoe Wins Class 2A DI Title

Texas high school football state championship playoffs

Cameron Yoe wins Texas high school football Class 2A Division I State Championship

After winning six of eight trips to the title game in its program history (including two spans of back-to-back-to-back championship trips in 83-85 and 08-10), championships have become the expectation for the fans of Daingerfield. These expectations are heavily fueled by current players’ family members and friends that also happen to be past members of Daingerfield Championship squads.

Imagine the scene from popular movie Friday Night Lights in which two police officers walk up to star football players, hold up their State Championship ring from decades past, and exclaim “Getchya’ one of these boys, getchya’ one of these.” This scene has become reality for the Tigers players and once again the pressure was on after reaching the 2012 Class AA DI State Championship against Cameron Yoe High School.

Unfortunately for the Daingerfield players, these are the same Yoemen they defeated in the 2010 Class AA DI State Championship game in route to their 3rd straight title and 6th overall in program history. In the 2010 edition of this game, Cameron Yoe fought back hard in the second half to tie the ball game up late. However, the Yoeman fell 26 seconds short of a chance to win the game in overtime, as a last second 69-yard TD pass from Daingerfield ended all their hopes of completeing the comeback and snatched the title from the Yoemen, 33-27.

This year the undefeated Yoemen came into the game hungry for revenge against the title heavy Tigers. It was evident by the events of the first quarter that revenge is what was on the table for today. A combination of miscues and mistakes by the Tigers and excellent execution by Cameron Yoe found the Yoemen with a 21-0 lead at the end of the 1st quarter. A Zach Riola interception of Keri Alexander at the Daingerfield 9 yard line allowed Cameron Yoe’s Jason Kopriva to hit Zach Felts for a 9-yard TD pass to open the scoring. On the ensuing offensive possession for Daingerfield, the Yoemen defense forced a three and out. What happened next was a play that seemed to give Cameron Yoe squad all the momentum to seal Daingerfield’s fate. The Tiger’s punter tried to salvage a high snap, attempted to punt the ball, but instead dropped it to the turf at Cowboys Stadium. Cameron Yoe defensive star at linebacker, (entered the game with 142 tackles, 19 TFL, and 7 sacks) Edgar Luna, fell on the loose ball in the endzone to extend the lead to 14-0.

UIL Offensive Player of the Game Keaton Denio scored on a 31 yard rush late in what was a long first quarter for Daingerfield. Denio finished with 163 yards and one touchdown on 22 carries on the ground. After finding themselves down 28-0, Shawn Hooks finally put Daingerfield on the board with a 13-yard rush midway through the 2nd quarter. UIL Defensive Player of the Game linebacker Somari Wright headlined a smothering Yoemen defense that only allowed 102 first half yards, including a first quarter that saw the Tigers only gain 15 yards of offense. The stingy defense also recovered 2 of 3 fumbles put on the ground by Yoe and also intercepted 3 passes. Down 35-7 late in the 3rd quarter, the Tigers tried to pull a page out of Cameron Yoe’s playbook from the 2010 game by taking a shot of their own at a comeback attempt. Senior Edwin Mims, normally a speedy wide receiver/running back and special teams weapon, subbed in at quarterback and threw a 10 yard TD pass to Shawn Hooks as time expired in the 3rd quarter. Mims then threw his second TD pass of the day to Tykeema Wilson on another 10 yard strike to pull within two possessions. (Mims finished with 205 yards and 2 TD’s on 13 of 19 passing)

However, all hopes of a magical comeback were put to rest with a Cameron Yoe 42-yard field goal with under six minutes to play in the game. That ended up being the last points scored in the game, handing Cameron Yoe their second ever state championship (first in Class AA) in program history, 38-20. The Yoemen defeated Gilmer (who also plays in a state championship today) in the 1981 Class AAA State Championship game for their first title.

By Taylor Brasher
LSG Intern
Call 214-783-2752 to Hire

What do you have to say?