Lone Star Gridiron

The Touchdown Club of Houston UIL High School Awards Dinner

The Touchdown Club of Houston will have their annual UIL High School Awards Dinner, presented by the Methodist Center for Sports Medicine, at the JW Marriott next Wednesday, December 12th at 7 PM.

Finalists for the Offensive Player of the Year in Greater Houston UIL schools are:

  • Connor Feist, Lanhgam Creek
  • Keith Ford, Cypress Ranch
  • Devin Lauderdale, Bellaire
  • Shane McCarley, Manvel
  • Troy McCormick, Mayde Creek
  • Adam Taylor, Katy
  • Tyler Tezino, Klein Collins
  • James White, Dawson
  • Keith Whitely, La Porte
  • Jordan Wood, Friendswood

Finalists for the Defensive Player of the Year in Greater Houston UIL schools are:

  • Hipolito Corporan, Westside
  • Matt Dimon, Katy
  • Cameron Doubenmier, Clear Springs
  • Tavares Garner, Manvel
  • Zelt Minor, Houston Lamar
  • Deon Hollis, Fort Bend Marshall
  • Cameron Moore, Cinco Ranch
  • Maurice Smith, Dulles
  • Earnest Thomas, North Shore
  • Hardreck Walker, Westfield

Finalists for Coach of the Year in Greater Houston UIL schools are:

  • David Aymond, North Shore
  • Bill Barron, Elsik
  • Brian Ford, Summer Creek
  • Gene Johnson, Cypress Ranch
  • Gary Joseph, Katy
  • Jeff LaReau, La Porte
  • Corby Meekins, Westfield
  • Tom Nolen, Houston Lamar
  • Eric Wells, Dawson
  • James Williams, Fort Bend Marshall

We will have the Award Winners right after the ceremony, so stay online and see if your favorite athlete was named the best in Greater Houston UIL Schools.


  1. C. Jones

    December 7, 2012 at 12:00 am

    The winners in my opinion…

    Offensive: McCarley (Manvel)
    Defensive: Dimon (Katy)
    Coach: Joseph (Katy)

    Also, I must add that having seen the Tigers play multiple times this year I’m shocked that Katy DB, Isaiah Brown, was not listed as a finalist with 10 INTS and 4 pick sixes. Bizarre that he’d be passed over with those numbers.

    • R. Smith

      December 13, 2012 at 7:37 am

      C. Jones: You wouldn’t happen to be from Katy, would you? All the winners were very deserving and were chosen by folks who pay attention to all teams in the region.

What are your thoughts?