UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Katy’s Gary Joseph wins National High School Coach of the Year

American Football Monthly Announces Both College and High
School Coaches of the Year

North Palm Beach, FL, January 15 - American Football Monthly, has announced their college and high school coaches of the year for 2012. A total of six college coaches were named winners in the classifications Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, NAIA, and Junior College.

Six high school coaches of the year were also selected. They include a National Coach of the Year as well as five regional winners – East, Southeast, Midwest,
Southwest, and West.

2012 national high school football coach of the yearThe 2012 High School Coaches of the Year:

National Coach of the YearGary Joseph, Katy High School (TX): Katy finished 16-0 and won the State 5A-II title. Katy defeated Cedar Hill, 35-24 in the championship game, played at Cowboys Stadium. It was the school’s seventh state title.

East Regional Coach of the Year – Art Walker, North Allegheny High School (PA): Walker and North Allegheny won the State AAAA title and completed an
undefeated 16-0 season.

Southeast Regional Coach of the Year – Brian Hales, Butler High School (NC): Butler won the State 4A Championship and finished with a 15-0 record.

Midwest Regional Coach of the Year – Jayson West, Lawrence Central High School: LCHS won the State 5A Championship and finished 15-0.

Southwest Regional Coach of the Year – Josh Niblett, Hoover High School (AL): Hoover won the State 6A Championship and finished 15-0.

West Regional Coach of the Year – Butch Goncharoff, Bellevue High School (WA): Bellevue finished the year undefeated (14-0) and won the State 3A Championship.

The 2012 College Coaches of the Year:

FBS – Brian Kelly, Notre Dame: Kelly led the Irish to a 12-0 season and a place in the National Championship Game. It was Notre Dame’s first undefeated season
since 1988. Kelly also won the award after the 2008 season when he was head coach at Cincinnati.

FCS – Bobby Wilder, Old Dominion: In only their third year of competition – after a 69-year layoff – ODU finished 11-2 and were selected for the FCS playoffs.

Division II – Aaron Keen, Minnesota State-Mankato: Keen was appointed acting head coach before the start of the 2012 season. He then led Minnesota State to a 13-1 record with their only loss coming in the D-II playoffs to eventual champion Valdosta State.

Division III – Larry Kehres, University of Mount Union: In the D-III title game, Mount Union beat Saint Thomas, 28-10, for their 11th championship in the last 19 years. Kehres’ record at Mount Union is 182-7 since 2000.

NAIA – Steve Ryan, Morningside: Ryan and Morningside had the best season in the school’s history with a 13-1 record. Their only loss was in the NAIA title game to Marian University, 27-24 in overtime.

JUCO – Scott Strohmeier, Iowa Western Community College – IWCC was the only undefeated junior college in 2012, going 12-0, and beating Butler, 27-7, in the NJCAA title game.

by Chris Doelle
Lone Star Gridiron
Texas high school football twitter Texas high school football facebook Texas high school football Google+ Texas high school football email texas high school football itunes, ipod, iphone

What do you have to say?