UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2014 LSG 5A Team of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 5A Team of the Year

txhsfbTOY2014This is the first year for Lone Star Gridiron to award a Team of the Year in each class.  This award is not a reflection of which was the best performing team or who is the most talented - that is decided in the playoffs and the State Championship game.  It is a reflection on which team was the best 'story.'  It can be overcoming odds.  It can be showing 'heart.' It can be doing the unexpected.  It is more than who the most talented athletes.

Winner: Ennis Lions (Head Coach: Jack Alvarez)

The Ennis Lions finished the season with a 14-2 record and winning the Class 5A Division I Championship. They started the season 0-2 against very good competition but then went on a 14 game winning streak. Their biggest win in the playoffs was a 17-13 win over Mansfield Timberview in the Area round. This was a rematch game as Timberview beat Ennis 34-21 to open the season. Coach Jack Alvarez took over a 2-8 (2010) team and steadily molded them into a winner.  Over the last two seasons, his Lions notched a 25-3 record.

Runners-up for 2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 5A Team of the Year

2. Canutillo Eagles  (Head Coach: Scott Brooks)

After losing the first game of their 2014 season, the Canutillo Eagles ran off 13 straight wins en route to a 13-2 mark and a semifinals appearance. This was the first time in Texas High School Football history that an El Paso area team has ever advanced past the third round of the playoffs. (Canutillo Makes History) The Eagles lost the semifinal to the eventual state champion, Ennis.  Head Coach Scott Brooks has compiled a record of 111-68 (all at Canutillo.)

3. Temple Wildcats (Head Coach: Mike Spradlin)

The Temple Wildcats knew they were going to have a decent team in 2014.  The rest of the state however, was surprised to see them still standing come state championship time.  The Wildcats finished 13-2 after a heart-breaking loss to Aledo in the championship game (49-45 .)  2014 marked the first time since 1992 that Temple has made it to the championship game. They had gone 29-34 in their previous 6 seasons combined.  Under Mike Spradlin, who took over as Head Coach in 2011, the team has improved each year.

4. Fort Bend Ridge Point Panthers (Head Coach: Brent Sniffin)

Fort Bend Ridge Point began varsity play just three short seasons ago (2012) with Brent Sniffin as their first and only head coach.   In their first season, they narrowly missed a .500 season and have been above that mark ever since.  In 2014, their only loss was to the state runner-up Ennis Lion by just three points (38-35.)

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards

What do you have to say?