UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2014 LSG 6A Coach of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 6A Coach of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron Texas High School Football Coach of the Year AwardWinner: Brent Davis (San Angelo Central)

Coach Davis led the Bobcats to their best season since 1986 despite being picked by many folks to bow out much earlier in the playoffs.  Davis has been here since 2009, compiling a record of 43-27. His Bobcat teams are 24-2 over the last 2 seasons.  Coach Davis has an all-time coaching record of 144-84-1 with previous head coaching jobs at Banquete, Sinton, The Colony and Alice. Davis is the son of former Wolfforth Frenship Coach Bobby Davis.

 Runners-up for 2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 6A Coach of the Year

2. Gene Johnson (Cypress Ranch)

Coach Johnson led the Mustangs to the state championship game in only their 5th year of varsity play. He is the only coach in school history and has a 37-23-0 record.  Before coming to Cypress Ranch, Coach Johnson spent four years at Klein Forest High school and three at Fort Bend Hightower compiling a combined record of 97-48-0.

3. Tom Westerberg (Allen)

Coach Westerberg was last years 2013 Class 5A Coach of the Year winner.  Westerberg has been with the Eagles since 2004 and is the all-time winningest coach at Allen with a 134-16 record. His teams have now won three consecutive state championships as well as one in 2008.

4. Gary Joseph (Katy)

Gary Joseph was the 2012 Class 5A Coach of the Year.  Coach Joseph is the epitome of a coach that doesn't rebuild - he reloads.  He has done it consistently throughout his career and 2014 was no exception.  There were a lot of question marks surrounding the Tigers going into the season, but Joseph keeps finding ways to make the kids believe they are champions.  In eleven seasons at Katy, his teams have always won at least 12 games a season and the only time they lost more than 2 games in a season (13-3 in 2008) they won the state championship.

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards

What do you have to say?