UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2014 LSG 6A Team of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 6A Team of the Year

txhsfbTOY2014This is the first year for Lone Star Gridiron to award a Team of the Year in each class.  This award is not a reflection of which was the best performing team or who is the most talented - that is decided in the playoffs and the State Championship game.  It is a reflection on which team was the best 'story.'  It can be overcoming odds.  It can be showing 'heart.' It can be doing the unexpected.  It is more than who the most talented athletes.

Winner: Cypress Ranch (Head Coach: Gene Johnson)

Cypress Ranch made it through a tough District 17-6A with a 8-1 record. In the playoffs beat Katy Cinco Ranch 42-20 (they lost to Cinco 19-7 in the opening game). They then started uprising everyone with big wins over Galena Park North Shore, Dickinson and Converse Judson (our writeup). The Mustangs went all the way to the Championship with a 13-3 record in only their 5th year of varsity play. This was only the second time in their 5 years that they made the playoffs (Quarterfinals in 2012 going 9-5) 15-15 in their other 3 seasons.

The State Championship game vs Allen had a higher attendance than 27 of 38 bowl games!

Runners-up for 2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 6A Team of the Year

2. Cedar Hill (Head Coach: Joey McGuire)

Won their 2nd consecutive championship in their 3rd consecutive championship game (all three against Katy) Also won the 2006 championship

3. San Angelo Central (Head Coach: Brent Davis)

The San Angelo Central Bobcats compiled an 11-2 record in 2014.  Not many around the state were looking for great things out of Central this season, but by midseason, it was clear the Bobcats had come together nicely as a team.  This was their best record since 1986.   In 2015, they look to be even better.

4. Allen (Head Coach: Tom Westerberg)

Allen fielded one of the most dominant teams throughout the year. They held down the #1 spot in all the polls from start to finish and won their 3rd consecutive championship as well as their 4th since 2008.

Direct download link

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards

What do you have to say?