UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2014 LSG 2A Coach of the Year

Photo: dallasnews.com

2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 2A Coach of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron Texas High School Football Coach of the Year AwardWinner: Chris Koetting (Canadian)

Head Coach Chris Koetting earned his spot as class 2A Coach of the Year for the 2014 season. Koetting's Wildcats finished the season with an undefeated record of 15-0, which finished with them taking home the Class 2A Division I State Championship title. Koetting began his coaching career at Canadian in 2010 and already holds the third place position for all-time coaching wins with the Wildcats.  His record is 57-10 for his five years as head coach of the Wildcats.

Runners-up for 2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 2A Coach of the Year

2. Rusty Nail (Mart)

Panthers' Head Coach, Rusty Nail, earns a spot as a Coach of the Year Runner-up, due to his nearly undefeated record.  In his final season as a head coach, Nail led his Panthers to a 13-1 record, landing them a spot in the Semifinals. Nail is Mart's all-time winningest coach, with a record of 105-23-0 in the past nine seasons.  At the end of the 2014 season, Coach Nail has retired from coaching to pursue a career outside of football. His teams made the state championship game four (4) times. They won 2A Division II title in 2006 and the 1A Division I title in 2010.

3. Kade Burns (Mason)

Mason Punchers' Head Coach Kade only dropped one game during 2014 and it was the Class 2A Division I State Championship game.  In his four seasons at Mason, Burns has gone 49-4 and has led the Punchers to both of their state championship game appearances.  His winning percentage (92.5%) is easily the best of any coach in Mason history.

4. Jeff Kasowski (Bremond)

Bremond Tigers' Head Coach Jeff Kasowski led his Tigers to a 15-0 record and guided his team to win the Class 2A Division II Championship game. The head coach has been at Bremond for four seasons going 9-4 in 2012, 12-1 in 2013 and finally 15-0 for the previous 2014 season. Kasowski holds a record of 40-13 for his four season as the Tigers' head coach.

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards

What do you have to say?