UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2014 LSG 3A Team of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 3A Team of the Year

txhsfbTOY2014This is the first year for Lone Star Gridiron to award a Team of the Year in each class.  This award is not a reflection of which was the best performing team or who is the most talented - that is decided in the playoffs and the State Championship game.  It is a reflection on which team was the best 'story.'  It can be overcoming odds.  It can be showing 'heart.' It can be doing the unexpected.  It is more than who the most talented athletes.

Winner: Cameron Yoe

Cameron Yoe secured a record of 12-4 for the 2014 season, which led the Yoemen to their third consecutive state championship win.


  • 2012 2A Division I – Cameron Yoe 38, Daingerfield 20 (Cowboys Stadium)
  • 2013 2A Division I – Cameron Yoe 35, Wall 14 (AT&T Stadium)
  • 2014 3A Division I – Cameron Yoe 70, Mineola 40 (AT&T Stadium)

The Yoemen put up a record 70 points in their win over Mineola for the Class 3A Division I title. The team is on a steady seven-year winning streak, under the direction of Head Coach Rick Rhoades.


Runners-up for 2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 3A Team of the Year

2. Waskom

The Waskom Wildcats, under the direction of Head Coach Whitney Keeling, finished the 2014 season strong with a record of 15-1, winning the Division II Championship. The Wildcats earned their first state championship in Waskom's history. The attendance for the title game was 13,942 although the combined population of Waskom and Newton is only 4,583. The team has gone 29-2 over the past two seasons, after going 0-10 in 2012. The team's only loss was to Center in their first game of the year.

3. Brock

The Brock Eagles soared to amazing heights by finishing the 2014 season with a record of 12-2. Under the direction of Head Coach Chad Worrell, the Eagles made it to the Quarterfinals in just their second year of varsity play. The team holds an all-time record of 20-4.

4. Mineola

The Mineola Yellow Jackets wrapped up their season, under the direction of Head Coach Joe Drennon, with a record of 12-3. The team's 12 wins became the most wins in the school's history. The Yellow Jackets also were the Division I runner up.

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards

What do you have to say?