UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Blake Sandford Among 15 UIL Award Winners

UIL 2015 sponsor excellence

2015 UIL Sponsor Excellence Award Winners

AUSTIN— The University Interscholastic League is proud to recognize 15 of the best UIL sponsors in Texas as the 2015 UIL Sponsor Excellence Award winners.  The winners were selected by a panel of judges in the areas of academics, athletics and music from nominations submitted by school principals and superintendents across the state.

The award, now in its 25th year, was created to identify and recognize outstanding sponsors who enable students to develop and refine their extracurricular talents to the highest degree possible within the education system.

“Teachers and coaches are asked to do so much, and they go above and beyond the call of duty to serve as UIL sponsors, coaches and directors,” said UIL Executive Director Dr. Charles Breithaupt. “UIL events would not be possible without tireless effort and dedication from sponsors like these. On behalf of the UIL, I commend these outstanding educators.”

Each winner will receive $1,000 and a symbolic memento from the UIL in recognition of their outstanding achievements in the pursuit of educational excellence through interscholastic competition. The League continually strives to strengthen and promote the role of extracurricular activities in Texas through programs like the UIL Sponsor Excellence Award.

The UIL Sponsor Excellence Award winners for 2015 are as follows:

Blake Sandford – Early High School

Blake Sandford has been a football and baseball coach for 20 years, and athletic director at Early High School for seven years. In his time as athletic director he has implemented a character value system for his teams. Sandford encourages his student-athletes to support all UIL activities in the school, specifically the band during the UIL Marching Band State Contest.

“I believe that in building a strong athletic program, you must start with a foundation of character,” Sandford said. “The values of respect, honor, integrity, and courage to compete are at the forefront of what I believe in.”


Other 2015 UIL Sponsor Excellence Award winners:

Kenneth Brown – Boys Ranch High School

Skip Townsend – Argyle High School

Amanda Drinkwater – Flower Mound Marcus High School

Bryan Buffaloe – Houston Clear Lake

Mark McGahey – Keller High School

Cindy Callaham – Ropesville Ropes High School

D’Lyn Morris – Lockney High School

Jennifer Adams – Big Spring High School

Anna Coppedge – Canton High School

JJ Jonas – Salado High School

Jill Wilkinson – Midway High School

Margo Reeder – Ballinger High School

Roumaldo Guerrero – La Feria High School

Susan Mathews – Magnolia High School


What do you have to say?