Lone Star Gridiron

2015 LSG 5A Coach of the Year

2015 Lone Star Gridiron Class 5A Coach of the Year

texas high school football awards 2015Winner: Ricky Tullos
(Richmond George Ranch)
George Ranch Head Coach Ricky Tullos wins this award after leading his Longhorns to the Class 5A Division I title. Since George Ranch began playing varsity football, he has been the only Head Coach in their short 4 year history. He has a coaching record there of 46-8. Coach Tullos has an all-time coaching record of 72-26.

 Runners-up for 2015 Lone Star Gridiron Class 5A Coach of the Year

2. Ryan Roark (Angleton)
Angleton's Ryan Roark is a runner up this year. His Wildcats made a surprising run to the Quarterfinals. His 5 year coaching record at Angleton now sits at 45-20. Coach Roark has an all-time coaching record of 87-43.

3. Jeff Rayburn (Frisco Lone Star)
Frisco Lone Star's Jeff Rayburn took his Rangers to the Championship game and ended with a 14-2 season. He has been with Lone Star for 3 seasons now going 29-10.

4. Michael Young (Lake Dallas)
Lake Dallas's Michael Young led the Falcons to their best season in school history (began in 1966) with a 12-3 record and a trip to the Semifinals. Coach Young has been with Lake Dallas since 2005 going 91-39.

5. Kirk Thor (Mansfield Lake Ridge)
Mansfield Lake Ridge's Kirk Thor led his team to the state championship game and a 15-1 record. During his 4 years with Lake Ridge, his teams have gone from 0-10 in 2012 to 2-8 in 2013 to 8-5 in 2014 and now 15-1.

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards


  1. ATX DAD

    June 13, 2016 at 3:12 pm

    So the team that went undefeated in 5a Div 2, clinching the state title with a first year head coach after the previous coaching staff jumped ship in May is not even a runner up to the team he beat? Yeah you guys know what you are talking about.

  2. Chris Doelle

    June 14, 2016 at 12:54 pm

    I am with you. He was in the running at the beginning but we allow voting by the fans, the Brotherhood, and the Texas high school football coaches and he just didn’t make in into the top 5.

What are your thoughts?