UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Class 5A LSG 2018 Coach Of The Year

Each year, Lone Star Gridiron sends out ballots to our Fans, TXHSFB Coaches, Brotherhood members and our staff/contributors. We compile those votes to select our players and coaches of the year.

This year, Alvin Shadow Creek's Brad Butler was selected as the 2018 Class 5A LSG Coach Of The Year. Coach Butler's Sharks had a great season finishing with a 15-1 record and was the 5A Division I Runner Up. They made the championship game in only their 1st year of playing varsity ball.

Coach Butler won by a very close vote. There were several strong candidates so the voting was all over the place. LSG had him #1 in the voting as did the Fans. The Brotherhood and the Coaches had him #3 in the voting. They both went with Randy Allen from Dallas Highland Park. Coach Allen was the Runner Up while 3rd place went to James Williams from Fort Bend Marshall.

Other Coaches that were in the running.

Shaun McDowel - Richmond Foster
Bradley LaPlante - Hutto
Steve Wood - Aledo
Phil Danaher - Corpus Christi Calallen
Dan Sherwood - Amarillo Caprock
Dave Henigan - Denton Ryan
Brandon Faircloth - Port Neches-Groves

Previous Winners :

2017 - Steve Huff (College Station)
2016 - Phil Danaher (Corpus Christi Calallen)
2015 - Ricky Tullos (Richmond George Ranch)
2014 - Mike Spradlin (Temple)
2013 - Stephen Basore (Northside Brennan)
2012 - Joe Willis (Cedar Park)
2011 - Terry Gambill (Waco Hewitt Midway)
2010 - Joey Florence (Denton Ryan)

What do you have to say?