UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Finalists for Houston high school football awards

The Touchdown Club of Houston's annual RBC Wealth Management High School Awards Dinner, presented by Capital One and SportsRadio 610, is coming up Wednesday, Dec. 10, at the J.W. Marriott Hotel in Houston.  Each year, the club awards a series of awards to area players and coaches.  The finalists for this year's awards have been released and it is a who's who of Bayou City area players and coaches.

The Touchdown Club of Houston will present the Greater Houston High School Player of the Year on Offense, High School Player of the Year on Defense, and the High School Coach of the Year at this annual event.
Also, the TD Club will give out the inaugural Ron Stone Award, which will be given annually in the late Ron Stone Sr.'s honor. This first recipient will be Ron Franklin of ESPN.
The TD Club's blue-ribbon panel of high school coaches select the High School Player of the Year on offense and on defense. A blue-ribbon panel of high school athletic directors will select the Greater Houston High School Coach of the Year.
Cost is $45 per ticket. Tables are $450 (regular), $500 (bronze table sponsorship), $1,000 (silver table sponsorship), $1,500 (gold table sponsorship) and $5,000 (platinum table sponsorship). All tables are 10 seats each. Premium table sponsors get their names in the event's paper program. For tickets or more information, call TD Club executive director Neal Farmer at 713-849-9860, or e-mail houtdclub@comcast.net.

Offensive Player of the Year
• RB Kasey Carrier (Pearland)
• QB Kolby Gray (Cypress Falls)
• WR Darius Johnson (Hightower)
• QB Jacob Karam (Friendswood)
• TE Barrett Matthews (North Shore)
• QB Shane Ros (Cinco Ranch)
• QB Russell Shepard (Cypress Ridge)
• RB Charles Sims (Westbury)
• RB Bo Snelson (Pasadena Memorial)
• OL Travis Swanson (Kingwood)

Defensive Player of the Year
• LB Princeton Jackson (Cypress Ridge)
• DB Dele Junaid (Hightower)
• DB Craig Loston (Eisenhower)
• DB Chase Maires (The Woodlands)
• DL Jordan Norfleet (Clear Brook)
• DL Chris Pruitt (Davis)
• DL Thaddeus Randle (North Shore)
• DB Jarrad Stewart (Pearland)
• LB Glenn Sumney (Texas City)
• DL Devin Williams (Cinco Ranch)

Coach of the Year
• Chuck Arnold (Davis)
• Don Clayton (Cinco Ranch)
• Shane Hallmark (Hightower)
• Tony Heath (Pearland)
• David Jones (Cypress Woods)
• Paul Lanier (Clear Brook)
• Greg McCaig (Cypress Creek)
• Ray Seals (Madison)
• David Smith (Klein Oak)
• Steve Van Meter (Friendswood)

What do you have to say?