UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2010 LSG Preview — Cedar Hill Longhorns

Team: Cedar Hill Longhorns

District: 5-5A

Coach: Joey McGuire (7 years) 66-20 at Cedar Hill (#1 All-Time in Cedar Hill history); 66-20 overall

Last Years Record: 12-1 overall 6-0 District

2009 Games:
vs DeSoto (9-3) (W 44-41)
at Wichita Falls Rider (2-8) (W 28-0)
at Euless Trinity (14-2) (W 23-14)
vs Arlington Martin (8-5) (W 47-39)
at *South Grand Prairie (4-6) (W 47-32)
vs *Irving (1-9) (W 65-0)
at *Duncanville (4-6) (W 50-23)
vs *Irving MacArthur (6-5) (W 66-31)
at *Grand Prairie (2-8) (W 55-7)
vs *Irving Nimitz (7-4) (W 52-7)

Playoffs: Division II Regionals
vs Plano West (5-6) (W 31-22) Bi-District
vs F.M. Marcus (7-4) (W 41-17) Area
vs Abilene (15-0) (L 17-41) Regionals

2010 Schedule
28-Aug @ SMU vs. Allen 7:30
***** Park of the Tom Landry Classic
6-Sep @ COWB vs. Denton Guyer 1:30
***** To read about their game vs. Guyer click here :
11-Sep @ ABIL vs. Odessa Permian 1:00
23-Sep @ Mansfield Legacy 7:00*
1-Oct @ Mansfield Timberview 7:30*
8-Oct vs. Grand Prairie 7:30*
15-Oct @ Midlothian 7:30*
22-Oct vs. Mansfield 7:30*
29-Oct @ South Grand Prairie 7:30*
5-Nov vs. Duncanville 7:30*

Returning Lettermen: 27

Returning Starters: Offense: 5 Defense: 2

Key Players:
QB Driphus Jackson 1506 yards 6 TDS passing 3 star 3 year starter
RB Ronnie Green 407 yards 5 TDs
RB JR Robert Lowe
RB SOPH LaQuivionte Gonzales
RB/LB Cameron Porter
RB JR Andre Anderson
WR Lovett Gibson 14-260 6 TDs Rec. TOP 20 WR
WR Brian Reed
OL James Runnels
OL Xavier Warren
OL JR Aderius Epps
DL Corey Feagin
DL JR Safari Bolden
DL Gasteneau Fisher
LB Jude Akpunku
DB Demarcus Robinson
DB Trendall Stevenson
DB JR Deonte Lockett

The Longhorns lost a lot of talent last season but they come back with lots more this seaons. Driphus Jackson will lead a fash pace offense and the defense will be solid even though they only have two returning starters. They have a tough pre-district schedule that includes matchups with Allen, Denton Guyer and Odessa Permian. Expect the Longhorns to go 8-2 or 9-1. They should win the district championship and maybe have another clash vs. Abilene in the Regional round of the playoffs.

5 year winning streak
Back to back 12 win seasons
Coach McGuire (#1 in school history 66-20) inherited a team that went 17-44 in the previous 6 years before he got here
"Battle of Belt Line" vs. DeSoto Eagles 5-7 vs. Eagles since 1996 including a playoff win
All-Time Record: 323-318-15 50.38% 656 games
Playoff Appearances (12) 1967,1979,1980,1992,1993,1994,1998,2005,2006,2007,2008,2009

Championship History: (1) 1-0
2006 5A Division II - Cedar Hill 51, Cypress Falls 17

Last 5 year record: 55-11

Last 10 year record: 76-40

By: Michael Wright & Chris Doelle
Lone Star Gridiron

What do you have to say?