Texas High School Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013

Harrells Highlight Stellar Class of Hall of Fame Inductees

At their annual banquet held on May 4 at 6 p.m. at Baylor University’s Ferrell Center, The Texas High School Football Hall of Fame inducted eight new members.

The class of 2013 includes some big names in Texas high school football, including Joe Boring, Eddie Foster, Donnie Little, William Thomas, Wes Danaher (#3 All Time Coaching Wins,) Graham Harrell, Coach Sam Harrell (tied for #99 All Time Coaching Wins) and Dr. J.P. Bramhall.  The inductees participated in the sport in several different eras starting in 1950 with Boring and ending in 2000 with Graham Harrell. Coach Sam Harrell and Dr. J.P. Bramhall are being inducted in the coaching and special categories.

Members of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame are selected by a statewide committee made up of sportswriters, high school football coaches and members of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame Board of Trustees.

The 2012 state championship coaches were also honored, and the Tom Landry Award was presented to Coach Sam Harrell.

The Gordon Wood Award went to Frost High School for the incredible turnaround the program has had in the past five years.  Beginning with the year in which they weren't able to complete the season because their roster was decimated by grades and injuries through to the 12-2 season that ended in the Quarterfinals last year.

by Chris Doelle
Lone Star Gridiron
Texas high school football twitter Texas high school football facebook Texas high school football Google+ Texas high school football email texas high school football itunes, ipod, iphone