UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

110 Games & Counting El Campo vs. Bay City & Other Rivalry Games & Milestones

Texas high school football milestones

Are you ready for Week Two? Its about to be here and there are lots of rivalry games and milestones to go over.

Lets start with the states longest running rivalry which is about to be played for the 93rd year. I am talking El Campo vs. Bay City. El Campo leds this series 57-43-9 all-time for a total of 109 games. This series started in 1911 with a 0-0 tie, El Campo jumped off to a 13-0-4 advantage before Bay City won for the first time (13-6) in 1924. El Campo now has a 6 year winning streak. This game will also be Bay City's 1000 all-time game. The Blackcats have gone 604-361-34 during their history.

Another great match-up to watch wil be Austin Westlake vs. A&M Consolidated. Austin Westlake leads this series 10-5 during the regular season since 1996 and are 2-1 in playoff games. Last year, A&M Consolidated shocked the Chaps with a 21 point fourth quarter comeback that led to 35-17 win.   Austin Westlake head coach Darren Allman will move to #3 all-time in coaching wins at Westlake with a victory.

In the "Cool Named Games" category, we have the "Battle Of The Bridge" in the Gulf Region and the "Rose City Rivalry" in East Texas as well as the  "Ranch Road 12 Rivalry" in Central Texas.  Gregory-Portland leads the series vs. Corpus Christi Carroll 22-18-1 since 1972 in the "Battle Of The Bridge". Tyler John Tyler leads the overall series 29-27-1 vs. Tyler Lee in the "Rose City Rivalry".   Dripping Springs leads the series over their RR 12 neighbor, Wimberley, 11-9 in the "Ranch Road 12 Rivalry."  Wimberley will be trying for their 200th all-time win when they take on Dripping Springs.

For coaching milestones, Pearland Dawson head coach Eric Wells will be going for his 50th win at Dawson and all-time when they take on Houston Westbury. Ingleside's head coach Graig Hesseltine will be going for his 100th all-time win as they take on Odem .

Lucas Lovejoy is going for their 50th all-time win in only a little over 5 years of varsity play.

Lufkin versus Nacogdoches was one of the states longest running rivalries until Hurricane Ike caused the cancellation of the 2008 matchup.  Despite the fact that these two teams haven't been in the same classification for several years, the battle continues.  Lufkin  leads the series 67-21-6 all-time vs. Nacogdoches including 19 in a row.

Other Rivalries:

  • Cameron Yoe 57-24-2 all-time vs. Rockdale
  • Converse Judson 26-8 all-time vs. San Antonio Churchill
  • Corpus Christi Calallen 33-16 all-time record vs. Corpus Christi Flour Bluff (5-4 in last 9 games)
  • Idalou 5-5 vs. Littlefield since 2002
  • Jasper 30-9-4 all-time vs. Kirbyville
  • Kerrville Tivy 3-2 all-time vs. Cibolo Steele
  • Schulenburg 10-7 vs. Shiner since 1994
  • Cuero leads the all-time series over Beeville Jones 29-21-3

About to reach Milestones:

  • Dallas Kimball 349 wins
  • Alief Elsik HC Bill Barron 99 wins at AE
  • Lindsay 299 wins
  • El Paso Franklin 149 wins
  • Houston Memorial HC Gary Koch 224 all-time games
  • Irving Nimitz HC Steve Hohenberger 74 games at IN
  • Gilmer HC Jeff Traylor 174 games at Gilmer
  • Klein Oak HC David Smith 99 wins @ Klein Oak & all-time
  • Bryan HC Ross Rogers 324 all-time games
  • Austin Bowie HC Jeff Ables 122 games at AB
  • Everman HC Dale Keeling 324 all-time games
  • Barbers Hill 549 wins
  • Elysian Fields 597 games
  • Franklin 897 games
  • El Paso Montwood HC Chuck Veliz 124 games @ EPM
  • McCamey 474 wins
  • Muleshoe HC David Wood 149 wins @ M & all-time
  • Clear Brook HC Paul Lanier 149 all-time wins
  • Madisonville HC Greg Morgan 74 wins @ M
  • Midland HC Craig Yenzer 124 all-time wins
  • Jewett Leon HC Keith Sitton 74 games at JL
  • North Mesquite 272 wins
  • Robstown 899 games
  • Palestine 474 wins
  • Stratford HC Eddie Metcalf 124 games at Stratford
  • Stinnett West Texas HC Keith Hardin 74 games at SWT
  • Terrell 499 wins
  • Rockdale 474 wins
  • Giddings 499 wins
  • Tatum HC Andy Evans 99 wins at T
  • San Antonio Reagan HC David Wetzel 74 wins at SAR
  • Shiner HC Steve Cerny 149 games @ S
  • Saginaw Boswell 549 games
  • Pasadena Dobie HC Jim Phillips 149 all-time wins
  • Corsicana going for their 675th all-time win
  • Fort Bend Elkins trying for their 100th all-time win

Lone Star Gridiron
Contact LinkedIn Facebook Twitter Google Plus

What do you have to say?