UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Class 3A Offensive Player Of The Year: Argyle’s RB/WR Ian Sadler

2013 LSG Class 3A Offensive Player of the Year

Texas high school footballArgyle’s RB/WR Ian Sadler won the LSG 2013 Class 3A Offensive Player Of The Year award. He was voted in just ahead of a state championship pass/catch duo, one of the states top running backs and one of Sadler's teamates who was the states best kicker.

Sadler, the senior running back/wide receiver led his team to state championship victory. He was an all purpose threat and finished the season with 133 carries for 1,001 yards and 23 touchdowns rushing. He also had 38 receptions for 665 yards and 12 touchdowns. He put on a show in the state championship game and was voted the Offensive Player of the Game. For the game, he had 19 rushes for 107 yards and 3 TDs. He also added 4 receptions for 75 yards and a 65 yard punt return for a touchdown. He made the 2nd Team AP and 1st Team TSWA all-state teams. Sadler ended his career with 151 catches for 2,956 yards and 36 touchdowns. His 151 catches puts him in a tie for 115th place all-time. His 2,956 yards puts him in 47th place all-time. His 36 touchdowns puts him in a tie for 50th place all-time.  Sadler has committed to Texas Tech.

The other players that were right behind Sadler in the voting was Carthage's QB Blake Bogenschutz and WR Terian "Tee" Goree (state championship pass/catch duo), Fairfield's RB Larry Rose (one of the states top running backs) and K Cole Hedlund (Sadler's teamates who was the states best kicker). Other players receiving votes were QB Ben Davis (Graham), QB Tyler Handson (Sinton), QB Jarrett Stidham (Stephenville), RB Jarek Black (Shallowater), QB Tanner Barr (Gilmer) and RB Tevin Pipkin (Carthage). Pipkin made the list with his teamates Bogenschutz and Goree giving Carthage 3 players on the final list. Davis, Handson, Stidham and Barr were all not only good passers but were also good in the running game. Black finished the season with 2,203 yards rushing making both the AP and TSWA all-state teams.

Previous players named LSG Player Of The Year for 3A have been (2012 Tyler Jones, QB, Stephenville) and (2011 Joseph Sadler, RB, Devine).

Lone Star Gridiron
Contact LinkedIn Facebook Twitter Google Plus instagram Pinterest

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Texas Tech Player Spotlight: Ian Sadler - Wreck'Em Red - A Texas Tech Red Raiders Fan Site - News, Blogs, Opinion and More

What do you have to say?