UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Poll Results: Who will repeat as champion?

We recently conducted a poll of Lone Star Gridiron readers asking, "Which 2013 Champions will win a 2014 Championship?"

The answers given by football fans around the state are interesting.  It seems that the larger schools are much more likely to repeat according to the results.  Even the top team (Allen) is only expected to win a State Championship this season by less than 24% of voters.  That means a lot of turnover of titles.

Here are the results of this year's poll:

23% Allen Eagles
20% Aledo Bearkats
11% Cisco Loboes
10% Cedar Hill Longhorns
9% Cameron Yoe Yoemen
8% Argyle Eagles
8% Denton Guyer Wildcats
5% Stamford Bulldogs
4% Carthage Bulldogs
1% Wellington Skyrockets
0% Grandfalls-Royalty Cowboys
0% Crowell Wildcats

Absolutely nobody predicted either of the Class 1A (formerly Six-man) champions to repeat.   This could be because so few of the poll-taking public knows or reads anything about that level of football during the season.

This poll prompted me to take a look at how many teams actually do repeat historically.  My impression was that the trend toward repeating is on the rise and the results show that is true.

Waco High School became the first team to ever repeat as state champions (1925-19927) and in doing so also became the first team to three-peat.   The Celina Bobcats won four in a row from 1998 to 2001.   The Cavaliers of Austin Lake Travis bested that mark by winning five in a row from 2007-2011.

Before 1950 only 16% of the state champions repeated the next season.    By the 1990's that number had doubled to 30%.  That comes as the number of state champions was increasing each year in total.  More teams made championship appearance and more teams repeated.  With more opportunities to appear in the title game, it seems logical that the percentage of repeat teams would increase.

2002 was an anomaly in terms of repeating champions in that it was the only year in the modern era that produced no repeat champions.  Shortly thereafter however, the 2009 roster of champions included 5 teams that would go on to repeat.

The 2010's have gotten off to a good start in terms of repeats as 33% of the champions have already repeated.

While it seems like the rich get richer with some of these storied programs, the truth is only a small percentage of teams each year repeat as champion.  Yes, that trend is increasing but when you have 100 truly great football programs around the state, and only 12 champions each season, most are not going to be around each year come trophy time.

If your team is riding a perfect storm of talent, coaching, community support and belief in themselves, then enjoy the ride while it is here.  If your team is on a downswing or doing some rebuilding, rest assured that spots will open up at the top.

by Chris Doelle



What do you have to say?