UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

THSCA Hall of Honor adds Danaher


The 2015 Hall of Honor Inductees have been approved at the March meeting of the THSCA Board of Directors. The inductees will be honored at the THSCA Hall of Honor Luncheon sponsored by Balfour, in Houston on Wednesday, July 22, 2015 at the Hilton Americas Hotel at 1:00 pm. The luncheon is held in conjunction with the annual THSCA Coaching School and Convention which will take place July 19-22, 2015 in Houston. Tickets to the luncheon are $35 each and can be purchased from the THSCA Office or at the luncheon. Hall of Honor Inductees are:

Bruce Bush has spent 34 years as a head coach and has a career record of 271-112-8. His first head coaching position was at Dimmitt and he had subsequent stops at Livingston, PSJA, Alice, Gregory-Portland, Donna and San Marcos. He came out of retirement twice to coach again, completing his career at PSJA North in 2012. He has taken his teams to the playoffs twenty-four times and won 12 district championships and made two semi-final appearances while at Gregory-Portland in 1989 and 1992.

Phil Danaher has been head coach at Calallen for the last 31 years and has led the Wildcats to the playoffs every year but his first year there, where they went 5-4-1. His record at Calallen is an impressive 340-65-2 with a record setting 16 consecutive seasons with ten or more wins and twenty district championships. His overall record as a head coach is 408-102-4. He presently ranks second on the Texas High School Football winningest Coach’s list.

Roy Garcia embarked on his legendary coaching career in his home town of Los Fresnos after graduating from East Texas State University. As athletic director and basketball coach at Mission High School, and head coaching stops at San Benito and PSJA Southwest, his name is synonymous with Valley basketball and winning. He has amassed over 600 wins and dozens of district titles.

Robert Hale has had coaching stops at Seymour, Dalhart, Everman, Burleson, Pampa, Weatherford, Crowley and Azle Christian. Most notably was his 13 years at Pampa where he compiled a 289-123 record with eight district titles in a row, semi-final appearances in 1991 and 1992 and a state championship in 1996 with a 33-3 record. He retired after 35 years in public schools with a career record of 753-369.

Percy Hines began his coaching career at Lubbock Dunbar in 1963. In 1975 he moved to Lubbock Estacado where he remained until his retirement in 1995. He served as offensive coordinator and head track coach. His track teams won 3 state championships, 9 regional championships and 13 district championships. He qualified athletes to the state track meet eighteen of his twenty years at Estacado. In 1983 he was named Track & Field News AAAA Boys Track Coach of the Year and was inducted into the Lubbock ISD Athletic Hall of Honor in 2012.

Other Award winners:

2015 Putt Powell Sportswriter of the Year Award
Rudy Rivera – San Patricio County News

2015 Curly Hays Officials Award
Jim Ely, Dallas Chapter

2015 Trainer of the Year
Raul Zamarripa, Harlingen High School

2015 Tom Landry Award
Larry Hill, Smithson Valley High School

2015 Distinguished Service Award
Sports Medicine Associates of San Antonio

What do you have to say?