UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2014 LSG 2A Team of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 2A Team of the Year

txhsfbTOY2014This is the first year for Lone Star Gridiron to award a Team of the Year in each class.  This award is not a reflection of which was the best performing team or who is the most talented - that is decided in the playoffs and the State Championship game.  It is a reflection on which team was the best 'story.'  It can be overcoming odds.  It can be showing 'heart.' It can be doing the unexpected.  It is more than who the most talented athletes.

Winner: Canadian

The Canadian Wildcats claim the title of Class 2A Team of the Year for their perfect season in 2014. The Wildcats, under the direction of Head Coach Chris Koetting, completed their season with an undefeated record of 15-0 and a convincing (34-7) state championship win over Mason.  The Wildcats' win was their third championship win. Canadian has also made an appearance in four state championship games since 2007.  The team was dominant throughout the season and their playoff run was one for the books as they outscored opponent 238-48. More than just this great season, the Wildcats  have had 8+ wins for 13 years in a row.


Runners-up for 2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 2A Team of the Year

2. Mason

The Mason Punchers earn a position as a Team of the Year Runner-up for their nearly perfect record for the 2014 season. The Punchers, led by Head Coach Kade Burns, were the Division II Runner-up and finished the season with a 14-1 record. The Punchers also made an appearance in their second championship game since 2011.

3. Bremond

The Bremond Tigers turned in an impressive undefeated (15-0)  season in 2014. The Tigers, under the direction of Head Coach Jeff Kasowski, completed their perfect season with the Class 2A Division II State Championship win over Albany. The championship was their second title in six championship games since 1981. The Tigers have also gone 27-1 over the last two seasons.

4. Albany

The Albany Lions came up 8 points short of an undefeated season and a state title.  The Lions, led by Head Coach Denny Faith, finished their season with a record of 14-1 losing the Class 2A Division II championship game to Bremond 28-21. The team has had 9 or more wins for 12 consecutive years.

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards

What do you have to say?