UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2014 LSG 4A Team of the Year

2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 4A Team of the Year

txhsfbTOY2014This is the first year for Lone Star Gridiron to award a Team of the Year in each class.  This award is not a reflection of which was the best performing team or who is the most talented - that is decided in the playoffs and the State Championship game.  It is a reflection on which team was the best 'story.'  It can be overcoming odds.  It can be showing 'heart.' It can be doing the unexpected.  It is more than who the most talented athletes.

Winner: Navasota

Navasota, Division I Champions, finished their season undefeated, with an exciting 42-35 victory over Argyle that went into double overtime. Head Coach Lee Fedora lead his team to a record of 16-0 for the 2014 season. Their production on both offense and defense was record-breaking as they fielded one of the strongest seasons by one of the strongest teams in recent history.  Navasota has eight consecutive 9+ win seasons (91-15), which includes going 42-2 over the last three seasons, with two state championship wins.

Runners-up for 2014 Lone Star Gridiron
Class 4A Team of the Year

2. Gilmer

Head Coach Jeff Traylor lead Gilmer in 19 consecutive non-losing seasons and 2014 was one of their finest. One of the Buckeye's best moments included the victory over West Orange-Stark in the Class 3A Division II championship game.  But this team was much more than a state championship.  They were the epitome of heart and teamwork as teammates banned together to dedicate the season to Junior Desmond Pollard who collapsed and died during a game of pickup basketball prior to the season. Coach Traylor lead Gilmer to five state championship games since 2004 but this had to be the most emotional. However, Gilmer will now be under the direction of Matt Turner, who was offensive coach for the last 12 years, as Traylor steps down to become the tight ends and special teams coach at the University of Texas.

3. Argyle

The Argyle Eagles experienced a heartbreaking 42-35 loss that went into double over time, in the championship game against Navasota.  They came up literally inches away from winning the game but still completed a great season.  They have gone 31-1 over the past two seasons and but none were more exciting than that final one.  Head Coach Todd Rodgers has built a powerhouse in Argyle.

4. Graham

Graham surprised a lot of people this year - not that they were going to good - that they would have that much offensive firepower. First they won their second consecutive Texas State 7-on-7 Championship and then beat some teams that few expected them to hang with (Stephenville.)  In the end, it was Argyle that handed them two of their three losses (12-3) and ended their season.  Head Coach Kenny Davidson and his team had a good run until losing to Argyle (23-20) in the semifinals. Graham went 39-6 over the last three seasons.

All previous Lone Star Gridiron Annual Awards

What do you have to say?