UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2016 Class 2A Coach of the Year

Jason Herring - LSG Texas High School Football Coaches Show

Jason Herring wins 2016 Class 2A Coach of the Year

Refugio Head Coach, Jason Herring led the Bobcats to their 8th all-time state championship game in 2016. This was the Bobcats 4th championship game since Coach Herring took over in 2007.

Coach Herring is the all-time coaching wins leader at Refugio going 134-12 during his 10 seasons there. He has an all-time coaching record of 203-50 having head coaching jobs at Wall and Sonora. The 203 wins puts him in 77th place on the all-time coaching wins list.

Coach Herring also won the LSG Class 2A Coach of the Year award in 2011.

Coach Herring was a finalist for LSG Class 2A Coach of the Year award in 2013.

Coach Herring was a guest on the Lone Star Gridiron TXHSFB Coaches Show last season.

Each year, the winners are selected by a compilation of votes submitted from coaches, Brotherhood members, fans and LSG staff. Each group's votes are compiled and then added into to the final weighted tally. In winning the award, Coach Herring beat out some serious competition.

The 1st and 2nd runners-up for the 2016 award were:

  • Jeff Kasowski - Bremond (won the Coaches poll)
  • Mark Kirchoff - Iraan (won the Fans and Brotherhood poll)

All-Time Coaching Wins Leaders

Previous Award Winners

Team Mini Helmets

What do you have to say?