UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2017 Class 2A Coach of the Year

Jason Herring wins 2017 Class 2A Coach of the Year

In 2017, Refugio Head Coach, Jason Herring led the Bobcats to their 9th appearance in a state championship game. It also marked the third straight time his team has played for all the marbles. In addition, they have played in five of the last seven title games. 2017 will be remembered for much more than on-field accomplishments as Herring and the entire town of Refugio were dealt a very tough blow just as the season was about to start. That blow was named Hurricane Harvey.

After the storm's 140 mph winds devastated much of the city, it would have been easy to write off the season and focus on rebuilding. Instead, Herring and the entire town of Refugio showed their mettle and rose the occasion. Whether it was setting up cots as temporary sleeping quarters or rebuilding homes for displaced players, the Bobcats came together.

In addition to the citywide issues, Casey Henderson, a 17-year-old junior, fractured the C4 and C5 vertebrae in his neck in the second game. After his on-field injury, Henderson couldn't feel or move his extremities. His family's home was destroyed in the storm. Coach Herring and the entire community raised the money and rebuilt it.

Coach Herring is the all-time coaching wins leader at Refugio going 147-14 during his 11 seasons there. He has an all-time coaching record of 216-52 having head coaching jobs at Wall and Sonora.

Coach Herring also won the LSG Class 2A Coach of the Year award in 2016 & 2011.

Coach Herring was a finalist for LSG Class 2A Coach of the Year award in 2013.

Coach Herring was a guest on the Lone Star Gridiron TXHSFB Coaches Show in the first season.

Just hours before Hurricane Harvey landed, Chris Doelle interviewed Coach Herring.

Each year, the winners are selected by a compilation of votes submitted from coaches, Brotherhood members, fans and LSG staff. Each group's votes are compiled and then added into to the final weighted tally. Coach Herring won the 2017 award in the tightest voting of any class.

The 1st and 2nd runners-up for the 2017 award were:

  • Bradey Carney - Muenster
  • Marty Murr - San Augustine (won the Coaches poll)

All-Time Coaching Wins Leaders

Previous Award Winners

What do you have to say?