UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2017 Class 3A Coach of the Year

Jeff Miller wins 2017 Class 3A Coach of the Year

Jeff Miller guided the Rockdale Tigers to a 45-29 win over Brock in the 2017 Class 3A Division I Championship. This is the first championship appearance for Rockdale in 41 years (1976 they beat Childress 23-6.)

This season was a special season for the Tigers and they came together as a community and a team as a result of several tragic events. In the one that hit closest to home for Coach Miller, his son Gunner, who played for Tigers until he was diagnosed with bone cancer in 2015, came onto the field to take the final snap of the state championship game win.

Each year, the winners are selected by a compilation of votes submitted from coaches, Brotherhood members, fans and LSG staff. Each group's votes are compiled and then added into to the final weighted tally. In winning the award, Coach Miller beat out some serious competition.

  • Coach Miller was interviewed immediately following their title win.

The 1st and 2nd runners-up for the 2017 award were:

All-Time Coaching Wins Leaders

Previous Award Winners

What do you have to say?