UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2017 Class 6A Coach of the Year

Pustejovsky wins 2017 Class 6A Coach of the Year

Cypress Fairbanks Head Coach, Ed Pustejovsky led the Bobcats to their 1st ever state championship title in 2017. They not only took out Waco Hewitt-Midway (51-35) in the championship game but

Coach Pustejovsky has been at the school for 37 years, the last 14 years as the head . In that time he has become the winningest coach in school history (116-54.) This first championship is a long time coming for the Bobcats who have been playing football since 1939.

Each year, the winners are selected by a compilation of votes submitted from coaches, Brotherhood members, fans and LSG staff. Each group's votes are compiled and then added into to the final weighted tally. In winning the award, Coach Pustejovsky beat out some serious competition and did so without getting first in any of the polls but 2nd in every one.  Two coaches were tied as the 1st runners-up for the award:

  • Jeff Hulme - Waco Hewitt-Midway (won the Fans and Brotherhood poll)
  • Hank Carter - Austin Lake Travis (won the Coaches poll)

All-Time Coaching Wins Leaders

Previous Award Winners

What do you have to say?