UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Johnathan Gray Wins Mr. Football USA Award

Aledo's star running back Johnathan Gray became the first junior to ever win the Mr. Football USA award which is a honor given to the top high school football player in the country. He is the 9th Texas player to win the award since it began in 1970.

Gray led his team to an undefeated season and a state championship in Class 4A Division II. In the championship game, he rushed for 323 yards and 8 touchdowns during their 69-34 win over La Marque. Gray also broke the single season state record for rushing touchdowns with 59. The record has been held for 57 years by Texas High School Legend Kenneth Hall of Sugar Land who had 57 in 1953.

Johnathan finished the season with 3,183 yards on 351 carries and scored 366 points. For his career he has 135 Touchdowns and has rushed for 7,005 yards. He is only 12 away from breaking the touchdown record and is about 3,300 yards away from moving into the #2 spot on the all time rushing list. Aledo has a 39-2 record in games that Gray has played in.

2008 – Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis (Austin, Texas) QB
2005 – Matt Stafford, Highland Park (Dallas, Texas) QB
2004 – Chase Daniel, Carroll (Southlake, Texas) QB
2001 – Vince Young, Madison (Houston, Texas) QB
2000 – Cedric Benson, Robert E. Lee (Midland, Texas) RB
1978 – Eric Dickerson, Sealy (Sealy, Texas) RB
1974 – Billy Sims, Hooks (Hooks, Texas) RB
1973 – Earl Campbell, John Tyler (Tyler, Texas) RB

By: Michael Wright
Lone Star Gridiron

What do you have to say?