UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Battle Of The Arroyo – Other Rivalry Games & Milestones

Texas high school football milestonesWeek Zero finally arrived and now we have football once again. And once again, we have a list of rivalry games and milestones for this week.

Lots of great rivalry games this week. Lets start it out with some of the longest running rivalry games. Longview and Marshall have now been going at since 1909 (102 games). The Lobos lead this series 56-41-5 all-time and have now won 11 in a row and 13 of the last 15. Longview head coach John King will be coaching his 125th game at Longview in this one. In another long running series New Braunfels and Seguin will play for the 100th time this week. New Braunfels lead this series 59-37-3 all-time in what is called the "Guadalupe River Bowl".

Throw in some "Cool Named Games" and you have the "Battle Of The Arroyo" where Harlingen leads the all-time series 60-20-5 vs. San Benito and the "Battle for Lake Ray Hubbard" where Rockwall leads the series 8-7 all-time vs. Garland Rowlett.

Everman will look to have a record breaking night vs. Fort Worth Southwest. This will mark their 600th all-time game & Everman head coach Dale Keeling will be trying for his 200th all-time win. The Bulldogs have an all-time record of 369-210-19 while Coach Keeling comes in at 199-122-2 all-time. They lost by 21 points last year to Southwest but won the 2 years before that.

For coaching milestones, Gilmer's Jeff Traylor will be going for his 150th coaching win as a Buckeye coach. It will a tough win though as they face Dallas Plano Prestonwood who beat the Buckeyes 42-12 last year. In the Houston area, Rosenberg Terry head coach Tim Tekyl will be coaching in his 250th all-time game as they take on Fort Bend Dulles.

School milestones will include Fort Bend Elkins trying for their 100th all-time win, Corpus Christi Carroll playing in their 600th all-time game and Corsicana going for their 675th all-time win.

Other Rivalries:

  • Beaumont West Brook 17-8 all time vs. Beaumont Central including 9 wins in a row
  • Denton Ryan 8-6 vs Wichita Falls Rider since 1994 including playoff win in 2010
  • Lufkin 36-15-1 all-time vs. Tyler Lee
  • McAllen 42-39-2 all-time vs. Edinburg
  • Donna 49-30-4 all-time vs. Weslaco
  • Vanderbilt Industrial 32-28-1 all-time vs. Ganado
  • Goldthwaite 11-5 vs. Mason since 1996 including Quarterfinal win in 2010
  • Tyler Chapel Hill 13-11-2 all-time vs. Whitehouse but have lost 10 of last 12
  • West Orange-Stark 18-6 All-Time vs. Port Neches-Groves
  • Groveton 38-25-2 all-time vs. Alto
  • Poth 38-16-1 all-time vs. Falls City

About to reach Milestones:

  • The Woodlands HC Mark Schmid 74 wins at The Woodlands
  • Stratford Eddie Metcalf 2 more wins to be all-time winningest coach at Stratford
  • Lindsay 299 wins
  • El Paso Franklin 149 wins
  • Wills Point 499 wins
  • Pflugerville 349 wins
  • Decatur HC Kyle Story 99 wins @ Decatur
  • Klein Oak HC David Smith 99 wins @ Klein Oak & all-time
  • Pasadena Dobie HC Jim Phillips 149 all-time wins
  • Lovelady HC Kerry Therwhanger 74 wins @ Lovelady
  • Silsbee 474 wins
  • Grandview 849 games
  • Navasota HC Lee Fedora 99 games @ N
  • The Woodlands HC Mark Schmid 74 wins at TW
  • Stratford Eddie Metcalf 1 more win to be all-time winningest coach at Stratford
  • Katy Cinco Ranch also Don Clayton 149 games
  • Irving MacArthur HC Brian Basil 74 games at IM
  • Clear Brook HC Paul Lanier 149 all-time wins
  • San Antonio Reagan 149 games
  • Midland HC Craig Yenzer 124 all-time wins
  • Dallas Skyline HC Reginald Samples 274 all-time games
  • Dallas Jesuit 99 games
  • Gilmer Jeff Traylor 149 wins at Gilmer
  • Sanford-Fritch HC Rick Ware 174 games at SF
  • Carthage HC Scott Surratt 74 wins at C 99 all-time games
  • Mesquite Poteet 149 wins
  • Terrell 499 wins
  • Rockdale 474 wins
  • Giddings 499 wins
  • Falls City HC Steve Marbach 99 all-time games
  • Huntsville 949 games
  • Gainesville HC Keith Hall 99 all-time games
  • Rosenberg Terry HC Tim Tekyl 249 all-time games
  • Iraan 524 wins
  • Franklin 499 wins
  • Sinton 549 wins
  • Fabens HC Jose Martinez 274 all-time games
  • Crane 499 wins
  • Hull-Daisetta 899 games

Lone Star Gridiron
Contact LinkedIn Facebook Twitter Google Plus

What do you have to say?