UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2016 Class 5A Coach of the Year

uil votes unanimously to reinstate calallen wins

Phil Danaher wins 2016 Class 5A Coach of the Year

Phil Danaher led Corpus Christi Calallen to their 2nd ever Class 5A Championship game in 2016. Along the way, he also became the all-time winningest coach in Texas High School Football history and from the looks of things, that total should just keep going.

The Wildcats finished the year with a 14-2 overall record marking their 33rd consecutive winning season. (Re-read that if you didn't stop and go holy cow! - 33 consecutive seasons with a winning record!) Coach Danaher has gone 364-71-2 since taking over the Wildcats in 1984. He has also been a Head Coach at Dilley and Hamshire-Fannett. He has an all-time coaching record of 432-108-4 which puts him 1st place all-time.

Coach Danaher was a runner-up for the LSG Class 4A Coach of the Year award in 2013

Each year, the winners are selected by a compilation of votes submitted from coaches, Brotherhood members, fans and LSG staff. Each group's votes are compiled and then added into to the final weighted tally. In winning the award, Coach Danaher beat out some serious competition.

The 1st and 2nd runners-up for the 2016 award were:

  • Randy Allen - Dallas Highland Park (won the Brotherhood poll)
  • Shaun McDowell - Richmond Foster (won the Coaches poll)

All-Time Coaching Wins Leaders

Previous Award Winners

Team Mini Helmets

What do you have to say?