UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

2016 Class 6A Coach of the Year

Mark Schmid wins 2016 Class 6A Coach of the Year

The Woodlands Head Coach, Mark Schmid led the Highlanders to their 2nd ever state championship game in 2016. They did not take an easy road to the championship winning games against Cypress Fairbanks, Spring, Katy, Richmond George Ranch, Lufkin and Beaumont West Brook during the regular season.

Their other state championship game was the year before he took over the head coaching position in 2004. Since 2004, he has a coaching record or 118-39-0. This has been his only head coaching job. The 118 wins puts him in a tie for 367th place on the all-time coaching wins list.

His career with The Woodlands started off a little rough because of the opening up of The Woodlands College Park High School. College Park opened up in 2005 and the Highlanders combined record from 2005-2007 was 16-17. Take away those three years and Coach Schmid's teams have gone 102-22.

Each year, the winners are selected by a compilation of votes submitted from coaches, Brotherhood members, fans and LSG staff. Each group's votes are compiled and then added into to the final weighted tally. In winning the award, Coach Schmid beat out some serious competition.  The 1st and 2nd runners-up for the award were:

  • Todd Peterman - De Soto (won the Coaches and Brotherhood poll)
  • Hank Carter - Austin Lake Travis (won the Fans poll)

All-Time Coaching Wins Leaders

Previous Award Winners

What do you have to say?