UIL 2021 Texas High School Football State Championship tshirts
Lone Star Gridiron
Don't Miss

Blake Feldt Takes Over For The Legendary Bob Shelton At Buda Hays Consolidated

2011 Coaching Change -- Buda Hays Consolidated Rebels

Old Head Coach: Bob Shelton -- Retired after leading the Rebels for the past 43 seasons. He is the only head coach that Buda Hays Consolidated has had since it opened in 1968. His record at Hays was 288-175-3 and his all-time record ends at 313-187-7. He is Only 1 of 10 coaches to win 300+ games and he had only one losing season in his final 25 years at Hays. Coach Shelton was inducted into Texas High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2002. The districts football stadium is named after him.

New Head Coach: Blake Feldt -- Cames from 3A Pilot Point where he led the Bearcats for 6 years to a 50-22-0 overall record including a Class 2A State Championship in 2009. Coach Feldt's coaching career began as a graduate assistant at the University of Texas from 1987-88. He also was an assistant coach at Appalachian State, SMU and Midland. His first head coaching job was with Class 3A Breckenridge in 2000-2004 where his teams went 23-29-0. He has an overall record of 73-51-0. He is accustomed to replaceing legendary coaches. He took over at Pilot Point when G.A. Moore (the all-time leading coaching wins leader) left in 2004. Blake has three sons. Cam is a freshman offensive tackle at the University of Arkansas. Boone will play right tackle during his senior year at Hays. Jack will be a freshman at Hays.

Team News: The Rebels play in a pretty tough district (27-4A) where they will be going up against San Antonio Alamo Heights, Schertz Clemens and Smithson Valley. They have gone 23-20 overall in the last 4 seasons and have 3 consecutive bi-district losses.

All-Time Coaching Wins Leaders (* Still Active)
1*. G.A. Moore, Aubrey (422)
2. Gordon Wood, Brownwood (395)
3*. Phil Danaher, Corpus Christi Calallen (364)
4*. Dennis Alexander, Harleton (318)
5. Curtis Barbay, Newton (317)
T6. Charlie Johnston, Childress (313)
T6. Bob Shelton, Hays Consolidated (313)
8. Jim Streety, San Antonio Madison (311)
9. Eddy Peach, Arlington Lamar (309)
10. Ray Akins, Gregory-Portland (300)

By: Michael Wright
Lone Star Gridiron

What do you have to say?